Reigning Champion Driver Edward Corbin (Daihatsu Charade) starts his title defence in the Barbados Rally Club’s Shakedown Stages on Sunday

Sunday event opens Barbados Rally Club Championship

Fifty crews are listed on the running order for tomorrow’s (Sunday) Shakedown Stages, the biggest entry for the opening round of the Barbados Rally Club (BRC) Driver’s & Class Championships for more than a decade. Two-time Sol Rally Barbados winners Dane Skeete and Tyler Mayhew are seeded at number one in their Subaru Impreza WRC S12, with no fewer than 11 entries in the FIA R5 class snapping at their heels, led by Stuart Maloney and Kristian Yearwood in the Skoda Fabia Rally2 evo in which they won last year’s R5 Rally Championship, presented by First Citizens.
  Regular overseas visitors Jeff Panton from Jamaica, Rob Swann from the UK – both now driving Fabias - and the Turks & Caicos Rally Team of Stan and Ben Hartling and Paul Horton (giving his Citroen C3 Rally2 its island debut) are joined for the first time since 2015 by Jamaica’s Kyle Gregg, who will debut his new Ford Fiesta Rally2. Island ace Mark Thompson will challenge the R5 field, too, in his Modified 4 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX, while the two-wheel-drive runners are headed by brothers Roger and Barry Mayers in Toyota WR Starlet and Ford Fiesta respectively and Logan Watson (BMW M3).
  Reigning Champion Driver Edward Corbin will start his title defence in his Modified 1 Daihatsu Charmant, with strong competition anticipated throughout the classes, particularly in Clubman 2, which has attracted 11 entries.
  With the Service Park at Hayman’s Plantation in St Peter, the event is scheduled to start at 10.30am with the finish at approximately 5.30pm. There will be two venues: a 3.90-kilometre stage from Lamberts to Pickerings will run twice in the morning, alternating with two runs from Mt Brevitor to Sailor Gully (3.20km); after lunch, crews will restart at 2.00pm to tackle the reversed Pickerings to Lamberts stage three times, with Mt Brevitor to Sailor Gully running twice, but in the same direction.
  The BRC Championship will comprise seven qualifying rounds this year: Rd 1 - April 23, Shakedown Stages; Rd 2 - June 4, First Citizens King of the Hill; Rds 3 & 4, June 9-11, Sol Rally Barbados; Rds 5 & 6 - August 27, Autumn Double-Header Sprint; Rd 7 - October 22, Winter Rally.

BRC Shakedown Stages - Sunday, April 23
2023 BRC Driver’s & Class Championships, round 1
Final running order at April 21:

1 Dane Skeete/Tyler Mayhew (WRC Automotive Art/CO Williams Sand & Lime/Sol Subaru Impreza WRC S12)
2 Stuart Maloney/Kristian Yearwood (FIA R5 Rock Hard/VP Fuels/Chevron/Bushy Park Barbados/Sign Station Skoda Fabia Rally2 evo)
3 Josh Read/Mark Jordan (FIA R5 Automotive Art/Java Island/Weetabix Ford Fiesta R5)
4 Rob Swann - ENG/Darren Garrod - WAL (FIA R5 RA Swann/Cygnet Plant Skoda Fabia R5)
5 Roger Hill/Graham Gittens (FIA R5 Esso/MaxMeyer Paints/MotorMac Skoda Fabia R5)
6 Jeffrey Panton – JAM/Michael Fennell Jnr - JAM (FIA R5 KIG/Sandals Resorts/Bushy Park Barbados Skoda Fabia Rally2 evo)
7 Mark Maloney/Justin Maloney (FIA R5 Rock Hard Cement/M-Jet/Bushy Park Barbados/Sign Station Skoda Fabia Rally2 evo)
8 Mark Thompson/Kurt Seabra - GUY (M4 Glassesco/Automotive Art/NKM Clothing/Bio Beauty Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX)
9 Kyle Gregg – JAM/Orry Hunte (FIA R5 BD Gregg Ford Fiesta Rally2)
10 Paul Horton - TCI/Michael Worme(FIA R5 Java Island/HO2 Construction/Sky Motorsports Citroen C3 Rally2)
11 Andrew Mallalieu/Geoff Goddard (FIA R5 Terra Caribbean Ford Fiesta R5)
12 Roger Mayers/Barry Ward (SM2 Chefette/Frosteez/Quality Tyre/Sign Depot Toyota WR Starlet)
14 Barry Mayers/Ben Norris (SM2 Chefette/Frosteez/Quality Tyre/Sign Depot Ford Fiesta)
15 Logan Watson/Andrew Croney (M3 Cargo BGI/Packaging Center/Enermax/Luxe Caribbean Properties/Sthil/Jack Daniels/Fete Patch/It’s Barbados/Bajan Pure Water/Quality Tyre BMW M3)
16 Ben Hartling - CDN/Dwayne Forde (FIA R5 Ford Fiesta R5)
17 Stan Hartling - CDN/Jeremy Croney (FIA R5 Ford Fiesta R5)
18 Justin Campbell/Ayrton Bannister (M3 Republic Bank/Automotive Art/Camps Auto Services/HEL Performance/COT Printing/New York Pizza/Premier Diamonds/AEC Components/Dream Freighting BMW M3)
19 Neil Corbin/Matthew Staffner (M2 Nassco Limited/H Jason Jones/Auto Solutions/Stamina Energy/Pressout Performance Toyota GT86 CS-R3)
20 Edward Corbin/Johnathan Alleyne (M1 Prosales/Automotive Art/Hilti/Cargo BGI Daihatsu Charmant)
21 Jamal Brathwaite/Tammy Nelson (F) (M2 Wolf Lubricants/A&A Autoparts/Consumers Guarantee Insurance/CA Autobody Repairs/Caribbean Auto Glass/TEC Barbados Honda Civic Type-R)
22 Tremaine Forde-Catwell/Noah White (SM1 Cheese Autoglass Finish/MIPA/Autocolor Daihatsu Charmant)
23 George Sherman - USA/Andy Grimstone - ENG (M4 Tide Cleaners/Subway Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX)
24 Suleman Esuf/Justin Harris (M3 Express Imports/SY Adam & Son/Prosales /Y Esuf Auto Clinic BMW 1M)
25 Jermin Pope/Aaron Kirton (M1 Glassesco/PEG Farms/Adrenaline Rush Racing/Pharmacy Sales Caribbean Honda Civic)
26 Ahmed Esuf/Ryan Ali (M3 Express Imports/Prosales/SY Adam & Son/Cosmo Club/Saltwater Project/Royal Chai BMW M3)
27 Sean Corbin/Emily Kinch (F) (M2 Super-S/Carters Pitstop/Kikks/Westlake Tyres/Gunk BMW 318ti)
28 Kevin Armstrong/Shawn Brathwaite (C3 Armstrong Auto BMW 325i)
29 Greg Cozier/Natasha Farnum (F) (C3 Perkins & Sons ‘75’ Barbados Rum BimmaCup Too)
30 Jonathan Still/Heath Hazell (SM2 Silver Technetium Group/Ino-Gro/Suga Apple Swimwear BMW M3)
31 Ian Warren/Elijah Marshall (C2 Guava Tech/Westlake/Benthams Farm & Garden BimmaCup)
32 Robert Ryan Wood/Miranda Ho (F) (C2 Carter’s Pitstop/Power King Batteries/CA Autobody Repairs/Guava Tech/Hilti BimmaCup)
33 Allan Kinch/Kyle Proverbs (C2 Savvy on the Bay/Yorkshire Agricultural Services BimmaCup)
34 Chris Hoad/Castara Waterman (F) (C2 Subway/Guava Tech/Dasani Water/Shell Lubricants/Color XL BimmaCup)
35 Stewart Gordon - ANT/Rene Forde (C2 BimmaCup)
36 Derek Edwards/Damian Johnson (C2 www . coralbeachbarbados . com BimmaCup)
37 Wayne Archer/Moishe Steinbok (C2 Arrow Construction/Arrow Woodworking/Archers Hall Design Centre BimmaCup)
38 Mark Huggins/Stephen Bell (GpB General Distributors Daihatsu Charmant)
39 Paul Inniss/Jamar Haynes (M1 Caribbean LED Lighting/Trident Insurance/Huntes Auo Spares/Essco/JJ Racing Team/J’s AC Services/Deodat Customz/Caribbean Villa Chefs/Camps Auto Services Honda Civic)
40 Karl Bovell/Kareem Gaskin (C3 BMW 325)
41 Horatio Brown – JAM/Leslie Evanson(M1 Fast Parts Caribbean/Esuf Racing/Garage 61/RAW Power Motorsports Citroen C2R2)
42 Spencer Hutchinson/Gayle Hutchinson (F) (C2 Perkins & Sons ‘75’ Barbados Rum BimmaCup)
43 Jason Downey/Kristina Pinto (F) (C2 BimmaCup)
44 David Anthony Balgobin/Toure Nurse (C2 BimmaCup)
45 Natya Soodeen (F)/Sameisha Williams (F) (C2 BimmaCup)
46 Pierre Clarke/Ezra Gibbs (M1 SDRR Hydraulics/Camps Auto Services Honda Civic)
47 Ryan O Wood/Azario Wood (SM1 MB Auto City/Shonny’s Kitchen/BizNeedz/Lucas Oil Toyota Starlet)
48 Ross Callender/Damien Castillo-Marshall (M1 Empire Building & Construction/Cheese Auto Glass Finish/Express Imports/Indulge with Anna/Lil Fabian's Trucking/HEL Performance/Percy King Autos Toyota Starlet)
49 Darren Lashley/Jason Harewood (SM1 Hi-Speed Performance Parts/Starboy Performance/HEL Performance/Lashley’s Auto Garage Toyota Starlet)
50 Jason Tull/Arlington Hoyte (C1 Jay-T’s Auto Services Peugeot 106 Rallye S2)
51 Wayne Tasker/Keenan Barker (C1 Winston Enterprises/Shalom Management Services Opel Corsa R)

For media information only. No regulatory value.

For further media information,
Web site:

barbados website development and hosting by