

## Lucky Marshals...

**Two volunteer marshals,** with more than 30 years' service to Irish motor sport between them, will shortly be starting the trip of a lifetime, as winners of an all expenses-paid trip to Sol Rally Barbados 2012 (June 9/10), including return flights on Virgin Atlantic from London Gatwick, accommodation for 14 nights and rental car for the duration.

The prize draw was organised by the Barbados Rally Club in association with the Tourism Development Corporation (TDC), Pacenotes Rally Magazine and the Donnelly Group Circuit of Ireland, for the first time a round of the Intercontinental Rally Challenge (IRC). It was the final component of the European promotion of Sol RB12, which has drawn a record-breaking International entry, including 10 crews from Ireland, more than half newcomers to the Caribbean's biggest annual motor sport International.

The winners are 41-year-old rescue unit regular Philip Bryans from Belfast in Northern Ireland, where the 'Circuit' is based and 46-year-old all-rounder Sean Hayde, who made a nearly 600-mile round trip from his home in Enniskeane in County Cork, in the south of the Republic of Ireland, to work on the event.

A member of Ballynahinch & District Motor Club and volunteer for more than 15 years, Bryans worked at the Shakedown, the SuperSpecial in the Titanic Quarter in Belfast, then on the Legane and Lisburn stages. "I couldn't believe it when I was told I had won," he said. "You hear people winning the lottery who say it takes a while to sink in . . . that's exactly how I felt. It must have taken about a week before it really hit me!

"After I got the call, I had to tell my boss. Straight away, he knew something had happened. He said 'you look very pale, what's wrong?' I explained and we've been able to jiggle a few things around to let me get the time off work. Now I can't wait to go!"

Hayde, a co-driver and event organiser at the Skibbereen & District MC as well as marshal, worked at Scrutiny, Shakedown and the Legane and Banbridge stages, but it was all rather lastminute: "I was supposed to be navigating for Jer O'Donovan but, in the end, we couldn't compete. So, while I was driving to the event, I phoned Des O'Loan to tell him I was available to marshal.

"I've never been to Barbados but, believe it or not, I was planning to go within a couple of years. There are six of us down here and we have always talked about going but never got around to it for one reason or another. I'm really looking forward to it!"

Simon Mooney, Publisher of Pacenotes, said: "Its a great result. They are both rally mad, have been involved for more than 15 years, and live at opposite ends of the island! It could not have worked out better."

The names of more than 600 marshals were entered into a random draw – they came from all aspects of the 'Circuit', including stage marshals, timekeeping and results, rescue and recovery, medical, communications, service parks and Rally HQ; the winners' names were drawn out of the hat by reigning IRC Champion Andreas Mikkelsen.

The event's Chief Marshal, Des O'Loan, said: "I know Philip and Sean will have a great time, but I can't imagine them suddenly becoming spectators...they will want to get their hands dirty! Everyone in the draw was a signed-on official, some had worked on two or more days - the only volunteers not on the list were those who asked not to be, also the senior management team, as we did not think that was appropriate."

## The UK and Irish Entrants...

It's the final countdown! The Sol Rally Barbados tales place over 9/10 June, and these are some of the UK and Irish entrants...

Glenn Campbell/TBA (Nissan Micra Kit Car)

Raymond Conlon/Darren McCague (Toyota Corolla)

Ronan Curley/John McKinley (Escort RS)

Martin Donnelly/Colin Fitzgerald (Evo 9)

Peter Gallagher/TBA (Talbot Samba)

Allan Mackay/Mo Downey (Ford Anglia WRC)

Conor McMeel/Sean Devlin (Escort Mk2)

Joe McQuillan/Neill Finlay (Evo 7)

Martin Taylor/Eddie Taylor (Proton Satria)

Paul Bird/Kirsty Riddick (Ford Focus WRC)

Rob Swann/Darren Garrod (Subaru Impreza)

Roger Duckworth/Aled Davies (Subaru Impreza WRC)

Steve Perez/Paul Spooner (Ford Focus WRC)

Graeme Finlayson/Orville Bruce (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 3 RS)

Rob Weir/Ross Weir (Subaru Impreza)

Tom Roberts/Nicky Marriott (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 6)

Harold Morley/Mark Nelson (Subaru Impreza N14)

Simon Wallis/Carolyn Pearce (Subaru Impreza N10)

John Hardman/Shaun Buckley (Ford Escort Mk2)

Martin Stockdale/Mark Swallow (BMW M3 Compact)

Nigel Worswick/Lindsey Pilkington (Ford Escort Mk2)

Gary Thomas/Phil Ralphs (Ford Escort Mk2)

Tim Pearcey/Neil Shanks (Ford Escort RS1800)

Andrew Siddall/Carl Williamson (Ford Escort Mk1)

Ding Boston/Jon Puliston (Alfa Romeo Sprint GTV)

Kenny Hall/Fenny Wesselink (Ford Puma S1600)

Stuart Deeley/Alistair Dodd (Nissan Micra)

Andrew Costin-Hurley/Shaun Mellett (Ford Puma Evo)