1987 - 96 A New Stage

A Mallalieu Bushy Park June 1993
Kevin Furber 3rd Overall Texaco 1992
Augustus Rudder Diamond Cnr 1987
Barnard-Yearwood Ist Overall June rally 1987
Freddie Gale Loose event early 90s Howell Pix
Gonsalves leads Goodman Bushy Park March 1993
Bourne_Skeete_Longman B Park Oct 1993
Sean Gill Leads Hill Bushy Park 1994
Misc Bruce Durant_Hill Bushy park 1993
Maloney_Corbin Bushy Park March 1993

And the challenge was taken up very promptly; after placing fifth, then second, in the previous two years, Andrew Mallalieu and Sean Gill won in 1989 in a Toyota Starlet. Son of Founder Member Bill, Andrew had started rallying in 1982, but was short on seat time, as he had spent much of his time living in the United States. Paraphrasing the time-honoured equestrian phrase about the saddle, The Bajan described him as “born in the driver’s seat.” With further victories in 1992 (Suzuki GS) and 1995 (Suzuki Alto), Mallalieu and Gill soon matched the achievement of Edwards and Manning . . . and in the same time-frame, too.

So, the June Rally now needed its next record-breaker, and he wasn’t far away. In 1979-80, Don Hunte had become only the second driver (after John Allamby) to win the event two years in a row, with Garry Clarke as navigator; he now became the first with four wins to his name, adding 1991 and 1993, with Wayne Clarke. Michael Gill/Stewart Gill (Toyota Starlet) won in 1990, then Prince Willock/Robin Hinds (Daihatsu Charade Tiger) in 1994.

Read More in 0-50: The Barbados Rally Club, 1957-2007.
Written by Robin Bradford.

To purchase this book, please contact the Barbados Rally Club.

barbados website development and hosting by caribbeannewmedia.com